Monday, February 27, 2017

Not Your Momma's #MCM

So this post may not be what you think it is......this is a little story about my darling little Reese Cup.
See how adorable?


We have an established rule in this household that my kids are not allowed to date until they are married(for real....that should be the standing rule for kids everywhere).  Of course, in typical brotherly/sisterly "love"....they relentlessly tease the other one about have a boyfriend or girlfriend(the struggle is real, ya'll).  I've also been assured by Reese that if I get her a cell phone, she won't text boys.  HELLO....you're seven lol....you won't be getting a cell phone anyways.  

Anyways....let's get this story started....


Last week Reese asked me to help her download White Tiles on her phone(and if you must know, I won every time we played. Probably shouldn't be proud of that).  I tried to get into her iPad and she had changed the passcode.  I asked her what it was.....and instantly, the look of guilt came across her face.  She was silent for a few seconds....so I asked her again.  

She reluctantly started spelling out B-O-O-N-E.  Wait, WHAT? That is a BOYS name.  I called her our pretty quickly and her cheeks turned bright red and she wouldn't look me in the eye.  When questioned as to why her iPad passcode was a boy's name....she said "I don't know". (typical kid go to phrase), 

I told her we had to call her daddy so she could talk to him(co-parenting win).  We got him on the phone.....and in his usual wit....he had me laughing when I really shouldn't have.  He told her that there are two things that a seven year old should worry about.  He asked her what she thought those two things were....once again we got the typical "I don't know". 

He told her since she didn't know, he would tell her.  One.....get smart, get an education, do good in school.  Two....stay out of trouble.  He asked her how she would stay out of trouble....to which she responded "I won't change my iPad passcode to boys names."  At this point it was obvious I was holding in a laugh and she looked at me and grinned. 

She immediately changed her passcode back and learned a very valuable lesson.  I, however, am still in shock that my SEVEN  YEAR OLD, likes boys.  I didn't even have my first crush until I was in fifth grade.  Seriously....boys still have cooties....even at my age.  We are going to have our hands full with this one.  

So yeah....that happened.  It is still pretty funny, but I am so not ready for this!  Lord help us all! 

What do you think the appropriate age for kids to date is? What do you think the appropriate age for kids to have cell phones is?  Comment below and share with me!

Proverbs 22:6 

Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it. 


Sunday, February 26, 2017

When the Kids are Away....Momma will Play

Happy Sunday!


The kiddos were with their daddy this weekend, so mom got some much needed fun and REST in.  The weekend turned out to be amazing and adventurous(despite the cold).



Date Night
We clean up pretty good...if I do say so myself.
 
 
We got all dressed up Friday night to go out.  We knew that we wanted to go Henry Clay's Public House to watch some good music.....but we had the typical "where are we going to eat debate."  Luckily(or unfortunately) neither one of us is too picky.  Deciding on a place to eat is always a long discussion(please tell me we aren't the only ones....).  We finally decided to just drive into Lexington and see what was downtown. 
 
Best.Decision.Ever.
 
 
We ended up at Carson's Food and Drink.   We were not disappointed.  GREAT atmosphere and food.  We had the grilled brie for our appetizer.  I ended up getting the pulled pork sandwich and chipotle sweet potatoes.  Best pulled pork I've had in a long time....and it had bacon on it.  Can't ever go wrong with bacon.  He got the shaved prime rib sandwich....which was to die for.




My meal...I seriously need to invest in a good camera.

 
 
Henry Clay's Public House was a great little bar.  Very chill and relaxing.....and you get FREE popcorn.  The beer they had their definitely took care of my "beer snob" tastes.  Don't get me wrong....I'll drink Bud Light...but I definitely prefer a richer, heartier beer.  Beer of choice there was Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale.

 
 
 
 
We Stuck
 
Saturday morning we got up bright and early to go four wheeling.  Note that this was my first MAJOR four wheeling experience(pitiful, I know). I was excited and looked forward to going down to Townsend Caves(I think I spelled that correctly?). 
 
We loaded up in the jeep and went on our way. We got to the trail(or road?) that led us to the cave and it was pretty muddy....and rutted out.  We thought we could make it all the way through....let's just say that didn't happen.
 
 
The story he THINKS I'm going to tell in 10 years is this......it was 20 below zero, 10 feet of snow on the ground, we had to walk 16 miles for help, and I lost a finger due to frost bite.  Maybe that is the story I will tell later on in life(just like men and their "big fish" stories).  But here's what  really happened.....
 
 
It was about 40 degrees, windy, and a little overcast. We made it about a quarter mile away from our final destination and came up on a HUGE ditch.  He swore we could make it through(I didn't doubt him at all ;))....and after many attempts and literally going sideways through this ditch(pictured)....we made it. The next obstacle was even worse. 


 
 
There were three large rocks that we had to navigate around and over....while getting through some major mud.  After about 20 attempts, log lifting(him...not me), unintentionally showing off some yoga moves I didn't know I had(may or may not have slid in the mud) and me finally giving in to pee behind a tree(I am officially country now)......we gave up and started walking.
 
Neither one of us had cell phone service until about a mile up the road....and my phone died when I finally did get service because of the cold.  He called/texted a buddy who was going to come and get us.  We continued to walk at least another mile up "toilet bowl lane" until we reached the main road.
 
The second we got to the main road two trucks, that were loaded down with razors, came driving by.  Seriously could not have been more perfect timing. They had to go up the road and unload and they agreed to come back and help us.
 
They drove us back to the jeep.  Two razors, some laughter, and a lot of mud slingin' later....the jeep was out.  I know there are some videos of this out in the universe because a couple girls shot the whole thing on their phones.  I am hoping to get ahold of the footage....and laugh again.
 
After this, both of us were EXHAUSTED and cold.  We headed back into town, got the best pizza rolls around(you Irvinities know what I'm talking about), turned on the UK game....and took a nap. The excitement of yesterday still has me pretty worn out.   
 
 
 
The Rest of the Weekend....
 
 
The remaining part of my weekend was pretty calm.  Saturday night I went to my parents house to celebrate two of my siblings birthdays....and also the fact that my baby brother is FINALLY  home from being deployed(PTL!).  We had our traditional Christmas meal...curry.  I could probably do a whole post just on how amazing that is.  He opened presents and we had cake.
 
Learned that my grandfather(who has dementia...important factor in this)....doesn't like Japanese food because he thinks they poison our food.  And when asked why...he said "they are mad they lost the war." (oy vey...and a little hilarious).
 
Today was a relaxing Sunday.  I got to play with the babies in the nursery at the church(my favorite!).  Not sure if that fixes my "baby fix" or just makes me want to have more (yikes lol). And then I got to attend our second service...where Pastor Joe did not disappoint in his message.  He is uncensored and will tell you like it is....and we all need a little bit of that. 
 
I grocery shopped today...which isn't really even blog worthy....just reality.  Watched a little Nascar(Daytona 500 anyone?) and cleaned house.  My babies are now back home and sleeping peacefully in their beds....and I will be heading that way soon myself.
 
 
Y'all do anything fun this weekend?  Tell me about some of your crazy adventures in the comments below! I'd love to hear you share your stories too!
 
 
John 14:6

I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. 

Thursday, February 23, 2017

My Crew and I

Welcome to my new blog! For those of you that don't know me my name is Bonnie.  Here are a few factoids about me:

-I am a single momma to two adorable ginger babies.
Pretty handsome! 
Lil' Sassy 
-I love Jesus
-I was a coupon blogger back in the day
-My hair isn't naturally red(secrets out....my kids out me on that all the time) 

Natural 
Not so much...






-I have the absolute best friends a girl could ask for! 
-I am a scatter brain....the struggle is real! 
-I'm a texting pro! 
-Makeup junkie.....legit.  
Still trying to decide if this was a good decision or not 



So what exactly am I going to blog about?  I really haven't decided....there will be lots of day to day posts, mom struggles, mom wins, inspirational posts and whatever else my scatter brain decides to spit out.  

I have always loved writing.  It is the easiest way to express myself. I hope you join me on this new adventure. I get a lot of joy from writing and sharing with others. I also try to be a positive light and hope to encourage those around me. 

I hope you stick around to see what my crazy crew and I are up to! 


And if anyone knows how to add emojis to blog posts....please comment!  I am lost without them!